Potty about pets

I love independent shops – Hull is full of them, even though their numbers have sadly dwindled in recent years. I like the quirk, the individuality and the opportunity to find something that you wouldn’t necessarily find in the city centre chain shops.

Some of the names given to these independently owned stores also beautifully illustrate the Hull sense of humour and creativity. Bo-Kays (a florist), His and Hairs (a hairdresser), Aversnack (a sandwich shop) and Get Stuffed (a cafe) spring to mind.

Conversely, there is a pet shop in the Avenues area of the city, very matter-of-factly, straight-to-the-pointedly, called ‘Not Just Pets’. Ah, you may think, so it sells garden or household stuff alongside animal supplies?

Not exactly.

Fruit and veg then perhaps?

Try again.

Clothes? Car parts? Paint? Cakes? Electrical equipment?

No. Do you give up?

To be honest, you were never going to get it (unless you’ve seen the shop in question). They sell, what I guess is best described as, drug paraphernalia – bongs, grinders, rolling machines, that sort of thing. Makes sense I suppose. I mean, how many times have you nipped out for cat litter and realised you didn’t have any Rizlas?! *thinks* Actually, it’s none isn’t it?

Or maybe I’m missing the point – are the ‘extra-curricular’ supplies actually FOR the pets? I guess it would be one way of stopping my cat trying to rip my face off whenever I try to put him in his travel case. Though I imagine his food bill might go up, I already have enough trouble keeping him out of the kitchen cupboards without the raging munchies.

Under the circumstances I’m surprised they didn’t go for something a little more creative – ‘Potty about Pets’ maybe or ‘Bongs and Biscuits’. What about ‘Dopey Dogs’? I’m a little disappointed at their lack of imagination really. So much opportunity wasted in a city that usually shows so much shop-naming flair.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Simon
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 11:54:18

    I know the store you mean, when i 1st saw the gasmask bong i really thought it was to go on a dog. Couldn’t get my head around why at all.

    Good blog.

    Reply

  2. hullajukugirl
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 15:42:35

    It’s such a random juxtoposition of stock, isn’t it? I wonder how they ‘pitched’ the shop when they were trying to get a business loan?!

    Glad you enjoyed the blog Simon. I’m still finding my feet with it right now but it does seem to be getting a positive response. It’s a bit ‘non-directional’ at the moment but does seem to be naturally leaning towards foody/local stuff (with the odd product review/curve ball thrown in) so hopefully people will find that interesting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

